R2, R3, No outs. The defensive team suspects a squeeze play. The 1st baseman and 3rd baseman are playing way in on the infield grass. As the pitcher commits to pitch, they charge in towards home. Seeing R3 commit to the plate, the pitcher delivers the pitch. The catcher steps in front of top home plate to receive the pitch and applies a tag on R3. R2 advances to 3B on the pitch. What is the proper ruling?

College Rules Practice

Quiz
•
Other
•
Professional Development
•
Hard
M Carnahan
FREE Resource
15 questions
Show all answers
1.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
30 sec • 1 pt
This is a Balk and Catchers interference on Catcher. R3 awarded home, R2 stays at 3rd and Batter gets 1st.
This is a legal position for the catcher to field a pitched ball. Call the pitch, If R3 is tagged out, play stands.
This is a catchers balk, Immediate dead ball, R3 awarded home. R2 remains at 3rd. Batter returns to bat 3-1 count.
2.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
30 sec • 1 pt
Using the batter order, Abel-Baker-Charles-Daniel-Edward-Frank-George: Bottom of the 8th inning, R1, R2, 2 outs. With Charles due up, improper batter Daniel is at bat with a 2-0 count. The defensive manager orders a no pitch walk. While Edward enters the batters box, the defensive Head coach requests time and approaches the plate umpire. He appeals that Daniel batted out of order. Edward is out for batting out of order. True or False?
True
False
3.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
30 sec • 1 pt
The B-R is advancing to 1B from the RH batters box. As he approaches the 45 foot line, the 1st baseman is bent over fielding a slow roller on the foul line. The B-R moves to his left to avoid the fielder. As he nears 1B, the runner is struck a couple of strides from the base in fair territory by a good throw to the 2nd baseman covering 1B.
Should the BR be declared out for runner’s lane violation?
Yes, the runner is guilty of runners lane interference
No, this is not runners lane interference. The runner has the right to occupy that position because the he was avoiding the fielder.
4.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
30 sec • 1 pt
R3, no outs, 1-1 count on the batter, the pitcher throws a wild pitch (called a ball) that gets by the catcher. R3 breaks for home as the pitcher comes in to cover home plate. The batter interferes with the catcher’s throw to the pitcher covering home. What is the correct ruling?
Batter is out for interference. R3 returns to 3rd base.
R3 is out for batters interference. Batter remains at bat with 2-1 count.
R3 and Batter are both out for interference on a runner attempting to score.
5.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
30 sec • 1 pt
R1, 1 out. The batter hits a ground ball to deep short. The SS throws to 2B but R1 beats the throwing is ruled safe. The relay to 1B is wild and goes into the stands. The B-R had not reached 1B at the time of the throw. Which of the following is correct?
R1 is awarded 3B and the B-R awarded 2B.
R1 is awarded home and the B-R is awarded 3B.
R1 is awarded home and the B-R 2B.
6.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
30 sec • 1 pt
In the 5th inning the head coach goes to the mound and replaces the pitcher. The coach remains on the mound for a few seconds to speak with the relief pitcher and then returns to the dugout. After the pitcher has completed his warm up pitches the head coach wants to talk to the new pitcher again. Is this allowed? Why or Why not?
No, this is not allowed unless the coach wants to replace the pitcher as this is 2 visits to the same pitcher in the same inning
Yes, this is allowed but the coach must replace the pitcher as this is 2 visits to the same pitcher in the same inning.
No, this is not allowed. The pitcher must face 3 batters before he can change pitchers as this is 2 visits to the same pitcher in the same inning.
Yes, this is allowed. The brief talking to the pitcher is not considered a mound visit. This is the the 1st mound visit to the relief pitcher.
7.
MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION
30 sec • 1 pt
No outs, R1. R1 is stealing on the next pitch. The batter hits a line drive to the shortstop. The runner slides into 2nd base and is standing on 2nd base. The shortstop throws to 1st base for an appeal of the runner that is now standing on 2nd as he obviously has not tagged up. The shortstops throw is wild and goes out of play. When the shortstop released the throw, the runner from 1st base was on 2nd base. What is the proper ruling?
R1 is awarded 3rd. 2 bases from time of pitch. Runner must retouch 1st base before advancing to 3rd base.
R1 is awarded home. 2 bases from time of throw. Runner must retouch 1st base before advancing to home.
R1 is awarded 3rd. Runner is not required to retouch 1st base before advancing to 3rd base
R1 is awarded home. 2 bases from time of throw. Runner is not required to retouch 1st base before advancing to home.
Create a free account and access millions of resources
Similar Resources on Quizizz
11 questions
L5 26 BIP

Quiz
•
Professional Development
20 questions
WCS 1104-1 - Knowledge Assessment

Quiz
•
Professional Development
18 questions
Surveillance Technology Quiz 3 (SDL)

Quiz
•
Professional Development
12 questions
Awareness Scope of Work DA

Quiz
•
Professional Development
20 questions
Baking Terms

Quiz
•
Professional Development
11 questions
Week 9 Prebake cake and sponge

Quiz
•
Professional Development
15 questions
Memory and learning

Quiz
•
Professional Development
20 questions
Chapter 2: Exploring Healthcare Careers

Quiz
•
Professional Development
Popular Resources on Quizizz
15 questions
Multiplication Facts

Quiz
•
4th Grade
20 questions
Math Review - Grade 6

Quiz
•
6th Grade
20 questions
math review

Quiz
•
4th Grade
5 questions
capitalization in sentences

Quiz
•
5th - 8th Grade
10 questions
Juneteenth History and Significance

Interactive video
•
5th - 8th Grade
15 questions
Adding and Subtracting Fractions

Quiz
•
5th Grade
10 questions
R2H Day One Internship Expectation Review Guidelines

Quiz
•
Professional Development
12 questions
Dividing Fractions

Quiz
•
6th Grade